About the college

SDM Institute of Technology is an ambition driven technological institution situated in Ujire within the homely ambiance of SDM Institutions and the serenity of the Western Ghats. Managed by SDM Educational Society Ujire under the impeccable leadership of Sri. D. Veerendra Heggade, the institution has thrived over the years in the areas of academics, innovation and extra curricular activities. With more than 1700 students availing quality education at SDMIT currently, the college flaunts a testimony of over 2500 alumni who are exceptionally well placed in the society today. For the last 11 years, SDMIT has delivered the promise of education rooted in discipline and holistic development of students.


Excellence in Education, Commitment to Society


Create an atmosphere that facilitates sensitizing the young technocrats to the needs of the community with relevant inputs of academic, innovative and research capabilities

Core values:

  • Achieve Excellence
  • Demonstrate high Ethical values
  • Be a Team player
  • Nurture Inquisitiveness
  • Inculcate Professionalism

Dr. D. Veerendra Heggade

Dharmaadhikari, Reformer, Educationist, Philosopher and Philanthropist, Dr.D. VeerendraHeggade is a multidimensional personality. What truly defines Dr. Heggade’s contribution is his determined and consistent service to the nation. As the president of the SDME Society, he is the guiding spirit and driving force behind the institution. Most importantly, he has shown that one individual has the potential to change and evolve himself as a social reformer in a nation of one billion. And rightfully, Dr. VeerendraHeggade was awarded the second highest civilian award of India, Padma Vibhushan in 2015.

Read more…

About Dharmasthala

Sri Kshetra Dharmasthala is the encompassing force sustaining all SDM institutions, social initiatives and organisations. The temple town of Dharmasthala that fosters multiple faiths under the watchful eye of Lord Manjunatha is a pilgrimage, an attraction and a spiritual healing centre, keeping intact the values and ideals of institutions functioning under the guidance of the Dharmadhikari.

The name Dharmasthala is a symbol for the confluence of all necessary social attributes. This town is where you can arrive at if you seek to find modernization grow perfectly rooted in traditions. Religion, spirituality, social welfare, education, entrepreneurship, healthcare – you name it – and you’ll find it here.

Read more…

Dr. Ashok Kumar obtained BE in Electronics & Communication Engineering from MCE, Hassan, and ME in Digital Electronics from SDM College of Engg&Technology, Dharwad. In 2010, he was awarded Ph.D. from VTU under the guidance of Dr. Shivaprakash Koliwad, the Former HOD of E&C, MCE, Hassan and Dr.Dwarakish, HoD, Dept. of Applied Mechanics, NITK, Surathkal.

He is into teaching for the past 30 years. Earlier he served KVG Engg. College, Sullia and PA College of Engineering Mangalore in the capacity of Lecturer, Asst. Prof., Professor and Head of the Dept. and Principal In-charge from 1989 to 2004. He served Vivekananda Engineering College, Puttur (DK) and PESITM, Shivamogga as Principal for about 14 years from 2004 to 2018.

He has published over 15 research papers in National and International Conferences and Journals. One of his research scholars has been awarded Ph.D. under VTU in 2017, and he is currently guiding one Ph.D. scholar.

Hobbies: Cartoon sketching, writing articles for magazines, Indian Classical Music and Photography.

SDME Society

The Institute is managed by SDM Education Society (R), Ujire.

Under the guidance of its distinguished visionary president Dr. D. Veerendra Heggade, the management spearheads its activities in more than 50 institutions across Karnataka forming the base for studies in the subjects ranging from General Education, Medicine, Engineering, Law, Social Sciences, Management, Naturopathy and Ayurveda.

Governing Council

Sl. No. Name Designation Category / Nature
1 Dr. D. Veerendra Heggade Chairman Management
2 Sri. D. Surendra Kumar Member Management
3 Prof. S. Prabhakar Member Management
4 Sri. D. Harshendra Kumar Member Management
5 Dr. B. Yashovarma Member Management
6 Prof. Gopal Mugeraya Member Academician
7 Dr. G. Jagadeesha Member Academician
8 Dr. Anil Kumar Ramsesh Member Industrialist
9 Mr. Rajkumar R.S. Member Industrialist
10 Mr. N.G. Raju Member Industrialist
11 Mr. P.B. Kotur Member Industrialist
12 Mr. S.N. Omkar Member Academician
13 Dr. Ashok Kumar T Member Secretary Principal
14 Dr. Girish Kumar Member Senior Faculty

2500 +

graduated alumni

20 +

memorandums signed
with organizations